Unanswered Questions

I’ve been trying to decide this week if I’m okay with the unknown.

I’m good with not knowing how/when the world’s gonna end. Pre-trib, Post-trib… I don’t care enough to want an answer, especially since there is no way to know for sure anyway. There is no need for me to embrace a “best guess”.

Yet, I’ve noticed over years of blogging that people frequently want to offer answers. You say you don’t know the answer to something? People offer you their answer. You’re going through a hard time – invariably someone is going to offer you a solution. Everyone seems to be in the business of supplying answers. Perhaps because we feel we are supposed to.

It’s like in our culture, we are terrified of admitting “I don’t know” to the world – or maybe just to ourselves.

Just think about it, what’s the most terrifying thing about someone you know going through a hard time? Not knowing what to say to them! Not having answers, not having solutions for them.

As much as I think I’m okay with not having answers to the “big” questions, I have definitely panicked when faced with situations when someone is sharing something with me and I don’t have answers to offer them.

Maybe we all need to learn how to be okay with that.

Maybe when someone is going through a season of pain, or confusion, or anything really, we need to realise that we don’t have to offer them answers.

I mean, maybe sometimes you have something great to offer from experience, and maybe there are times that you are meant to share. But sometimes, even if it’s something you think you have an answer for, it’s an answer they won’t be able to accept until they discover it themselves.

Have you ever had that moment? When you think someone is being blind and completely missing something that seems so obvious and no matter how hard you try you can’t get the answer into their thick skulls?

Maybe it’s not our place to have the answers. Maybe we’re just supposed to be there for people as they go on their own journeys and find their answers.

I’ve always believed that the things people discover on their own are the things that stick with them.

What do you think? Do you always have answers for people? Do people tend to have answers for you??? Does having or being given “answers” work?

Leave a Reply

